



REASEHEATH COLLEGE BOARD SEARCH AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting held on 27 November 2020 at 1.00pm Via MS Teams

Present: David Pearson, independent (Chair) (DP)

Colin Baxter, independent (CB) Marcus Clinton, principal (MC)

Dr Elizabeth Harrison, independent (EH)

Alastair Taylor, independent (AT)

In attendance Jackie Schillinger, company secretary (head of governance) (JS)

Item	Content
1.	WELCOME AND APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE
1.1	The Chair welcomed all to the meeting. There were no apologies for absence. The meeting was quorate.
2.	DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST
2.1	There were no declarations of interest made.
3.	MINUTES AND MATTERS ARISING
3.1	The minutes of the meeting held on 4 June 2020 were approved as a correct record and the action log reviewed for assurance.
4.	MEMBERSHIP REPORT
4.1	The membership report was received and the key aspects discussed included: The usefulness of governor inductions offered by the AoC and the use of these as refresher training for governors, particular around the strategic role of governors; The reappointments of current members for a further term based on skills and experience, contributions and attendance and one to ones with the Chair; Committee membership based on vacancies and one to ones with the Chair; and succession planning. With a current co-opted member well placed to add HR legal and general commercial and education related legal and risk management skills to the Board.
4.2	RESOLVED: To make the following recommendation to the Board for approval:
	The re-appointment of Angela Potter and Prof Chris Gaskell as members of the Board for a period of three years.
	The following Committee appointments:

- Mike Gorton on the Special Committee
- o Andrew Fletcher to join the Estates Development and Property Group
- Paul Weston to join the FGP Committee and the Estates Development and Property Group
- Evelyn Davies Jones as co-opted external member of the Remuneration Committee and the Special Committee
- Ian Britton from University of Chester to replace Chris Haslam as the co-opted member of the HE Committee

5. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

- 5.1 Feedback was provided from the Vice Chair's one to ones with the co-opted committee members. It was agreed that they should be offered to receive communications and take part in meetings, events and training to the extent that they wish to, to ensure those that wish to engage more in college board have the chance to do so.
- 5.2 Board reporting was discussed and it was agreed that executive summary reporting had generally improved and MC continued to work with the executive team to improve the clarity of reporting, with support from DP on any feedback. MC welcomed continued feedback from members to support effective reporting.
- 5.3 Timeliness and the burden of reporting was discussed and it was agreed that members need to be aware of the pressures on management staff currently so as not to put unnecessary reporting requirements on them, but that in general the reporting and timeliness had been good, despite the challenges this year. DP suggested that he join an executive team meeting to thank the team for all their work and MC welcomed the suggestion.
- 5.4 The content of the upcoming strategy day in January 2021 was discussed and it was agreed that the FE White Paper and a review of the strategic plan against external drivers would be useful as well as topics such as estates strategy and the delivery model and offer, with the programme for the day to be agreed with the Chair outside the meeting.

6. MATTERS TO REPORT TO THE BOARD/OTHER COMMITTEES

6.1 It was agreed to recommend the following to the Board for approval:

The re-appointment of Angela Potter and Prof Chris Gaskell as members of the Board for a period of three years.

The following Committee appointments:

- Mike Gorton on the Special Committee
- o Andrew Fletcher to join the Estates Development and Property Group
- Paul Weston to join the FGP Committee and the Estates Development and Property Group

	 Evelyn Davies Jones as co-opted external member of the Remuneration Committee and the Special Committee
	 Ian Britton from University of Chester to replace Chris Haslam as the co-opted member of the HE Committee
7.	DATE OF NEXT MEETING
7.1	The date of the next meeting would be arranged following the meeting, taking into account availability in January.

The meeting closed at 2.20pm. Approved as a correct record 23.02.21